Other Rangitāne

/Other Rangitāne
Other Rangitāne2017-05-16T10:07:18+12:00

There are four recognised Rangitāne takiwa (regions) in New Zealand. They are Manawatu, Tamaki Nui a Rua, Wairarapa and Wairau. Each takiwa has an iwi runanga that operates independently from one another and represents the interests of Rangitāne people.

Otherwise known as Tanenuiarangi Manawatu Incorporated, they are based in Palmerston North on Maxwell’s Line. TMI has a significant Maori Health Service, a strong Resource management team and it is the base for Kia Ora FM. Manawatu also leads the Iwi Fisheries Company Te Ohu Te Ika a Rangitāne which includes Tamaki and Wairarapa.


Based in Dannevirke ROTNAR has a strong Maori health, resource management and cultural and political team. Their Treaty Settlement is being negotiated with Rangitāne o Wairarapa.
Our Rangitāne fishing company has based a tuna research project at the former Oringi Freezing Works. The runanga is fortunate to have a tight relationship with the Kura Kaupapa based near Makirikiri Marae and as a result are very strong in tikanga and reo Maori.


Our cousins down south arguably have the most picturesque surroundings. The runanga is based in Blenheim and they operate out of Rangitāne Tower (formerly the Post Office Tower). They have just opened a cultural centre in Grovetown just north of Blenheim.